Character Creation

One of the exciting things about gaming is character creation. Here is the first step not only into a game, but into an entire new world. Even if you’re not into role-playing, character creation can be a source of fun. There are some games out there that go above and beyond when it comes to characterization and so far my all time favorite has been Aion.

What makes a character, a character? When exactly does it become so-and-so? For Nikayla it started back in Everquest. The name was formed with my daughter’s help and we sat at EQ’s creation screen, listening to that great EQ music (which still gives me chills by the way), wondering, what should Nikayla look like? Who is she? Now EQ’s character creation doesn’t let you do much but ten years ago it wasn’t all that bad.

Today we have EQ2, Aion, Rift, Wow, Guild Wars, Warhammer & Free Realms, just to name a few. And it seems like developers understand that we want to be able to look different. I don’t want to look like every girl out there. I want to STAND OUT! Aion accomplished this very well and Rift did a good job. I just bought Guild Wars so I’ll let you know what I can come up with in that one. Looks like they also have a pretty good character creator.

So… question of the day! When you’re making your characters, what do you look for? What do you want to add, take away, etc? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Character Creation

  1. Hey, found this blog through Syp’s twitter. I love it! Fluff is a huge part of my MMO life too, probably more than is healthy πŸ˜›

    I think it was last year that I noticed a trend in my character creating. 1) they’re always female, 2) they always get different names, very rarely do I reuse character names and 3) they’re always attractive. I’m not a fan of scars on my characters nor big tattoos on their faces. I mean, more likely than not it took me a while to get my character’s face just perfect, seems a shame to mar it πŸ™‚

    Anyway, thanks for having me on your blog roll, I hope you won’t mind that I return the favor! Gonna add you to my reader as well, keep up the good work.

    • Thank you so much for the kind comments! I can’t live without my fluff!!
      I’m the exact same about tattoos and scars. No way do any of my gals have any marks on their faces!!!

  2. I usually start with a warrior and I want my warrior to look fierce, like he’s going to kick the crap out of everyone. But that is just me, except for SWG there I just wanted a bounty hunter, which will probably be the same for TOR. I doubt TOR will let us individualize characters much, I am afraid there might be hundreds of boba fetts running around

    • Hundreds of Boba Fetts might not be too bad LOL.. BTW, great site. I’ll put you on my blogroll if you don’t mind. πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Quick Tips for Character Creation « Perfectly Prompted!

Leave a Reply

